Minutes of 32nd Meeting of East Kolkata Wetlands Management Authority (EKWMA) held at the Conference Hall of Chief Secretary to the Government of West Bengal at Nabanna on 16.08.2024 at 5:30 p.m.

The list of attendees is attached.

The Hon'ble Minister of State (Independent Charge), Department of Environment chaired the meeting and welcomed all the attendees. The Chief Secretary, Govt. of West Bengal co-chaired the meeting. Principal Secretary, Department of Environment made a presentation on the following agenda items:

AGENDA NO. 1: Confirmation of the minutes of the earlier meeting of East Kolkata Wetlands Management Authority

Decision of the EKWMA: Minutes of the 31st meeting of the EKWMA held on 31.10.2023 were confirmed.

AGENDA NO. 2: Approval of Annual Accounts of the East Kolkata Wetlands Management Authority for the year 2019-2020, 2020-2021 and 2021-2022

Annual Accounts for the years 2019-2020, 2020-2021 and 2021-2022 of the East Kolkata Wetlands Management Authority were prepared and audited by a Chartered Accountant Firm. Accordingly, the Firm submitted the audit report for the aforementioned years. The Audit Reports were placed before the Authority for approval.

Decision of the EKWMA: Annual Accounts for the years 2019-2020, 2020-2021 and 2021-2022 of the East Kolkata Wetlands Management Authority approved and the same would be forwarded to Department of Environment, for further necessary action.

AGENDA NO. 3: Execution of the Section 11 of the East Kolkata Wetlands (Conservation and Management) Act, 2006

Section 11(1) of the EKW (C&M) Act of 2006 states that if the authority is, either suo moto or on receipt of any information, satisfied that the character or mode of use of a land is being changed or has been changed in contravention of any provision of this Act, it may, by order in writing, require the person responsible for the change to restore the land at his own expense, to the original character or mode of use within such period as may be specified in the order and, in case of default by such person, undertake the restoration by itself and recover the cost thereof as arrears of land-revenue. In this regard following is brought to the notice of the Authority.

Execution of the Demolition and Restoration

EKWMA issued Reasoned Orders to the violators with a direction to demolish and restore the land to its original character at his own cost after providing hearing opportunity. Failing which EKWMA directed

the concerned District Magistrate, South and North 24-Parganas, Commissioners, Kolkata and Bidhannagar Municipal Corporation to execute the demolition and restoration work are as follows:

Administrative Departments	Number of Demolition/ Restoration Orders	Number of pending of execution of Demolition/ Restoration Orders
North 24 Parganas District	1	-
South 24 Parganas District	49	47
Kolkata Municipal Corporation	11	9
Bidhannagar Municipal	3	1
Corporation Irrigation and Waterways	1	1
Department Waterways		

However, District Magistrate, South 24-Parganas has issued directions for demolition of some unauthorised structures.

The matter was placed before the Authority for kind information.

AGENDA NO. 4: Development of sewerage and drainage (S&D) system in the added areas of Hossainpur and adjoining areas covering part of Ward No. 108 and 109, KMC

East Kolkata Wetlands Management Authority (EKWMA) was received a proposal from the Project Director, KEIIP-KMC for the development of sewerage and drainage (S&D) system in the added areas of Hossainpur and adjoining areas covering part of Ward No. 108 and 109, KMC which is intended to start from August, 2024. The project's primary objective is to enhance the urban environment and overall quality of life within the Kolkata Municipal area by upgrading the sewerage and drainage (S&D) system. Here about 1.879 km pipe lying in Karimpur Mouza on Nazirabad Road and 1.855 km pipe lying in Jagatipota Mouza is proposed within the East Kolkata Wetlands area. No structure like pumping station or STP will be constructed under S&D network in EKW area. This project will also not hamper the quantity of sewage which flows through out the canals of EKW area. It is also mentioned in the project proposal that the pipelines are underground.

Decision of the EKWMA: The EKWMA decided that as the project will not break the provisions of the East Kolkata Wetlands (Conservation and Management) Act, 2006 and Wetlands (Conservation and Management) Rules, 2017, the proposal for development of sewerage and drainage (S&D) system in the added areas of Hossainpur and adjoining areas covering part of KMC Ward No. 108 and 109 is hereby approved.

The meeting ended with vote of thanks.

Chief Secretary to the Govt. of W.B.

& Member, EKWMA.

Hon'ble Minister of State (Independent Charge),

Environment Department, &

Chairperson, EKWMA

Following persons were present in the meeting of the East Kolkata Wetlands Management Authority (EKWMA) held at the Conference Hall of Chief Secretary to the Government of West Bengal at Nabanna on 16.08.2024 at 5:30pm:

The meeting of the State Wetlands Authority held on 16.08.2024 was attended by the following persons:

- 1. Smt. Chandrima Bhattacharya, 'Hon'ble Minister of State (Independent Charge), Environment Department, the Government of West Bengal and Chairperson, SWA & EKWMA.
- 2. Shri B.P. Gopalika, Chief Secretary to the Government of West Bengal and Vice-chairperson, SWA & Member EKWMA.
- 3. Dr. Subrata Gupta, Additional Chief Secretary, Department of Science & Technology and Biotechnology, Member, SWA.
- 4. Shri Manoj Kumar Agarwal, Additional Chief Secretary, Department of Forests and Member, SWA & EKWMA.
- 5. Dr. Manoj Pant, Additional Chief Secretary, Department of Finance and Member, SWA.
- 6. Shri Prabhat Kumar Mishra, Additional Chief Secretary, Department of Water Resources Investigation and Development & Department of Irrigation & Waterways and Member, SWA & EKWMA.
- 7. Dr. Kalyan Rudra, Chairman, West Bengal Pollution Control Board (WBPCB) & Chairman, Technical Committee, SWA and Expert Member, EKWMA.
- 8. Dr. Rajesh Kumar, Principal Secretary, Department of Environment and Member Secretary, WBPCB, SWA & EKWMA.
- 9. Shri Debol Roy, PCCF, Wildlife and Chief Wildlife Warden, West Bengal & Member, SWA.
- 10. Md. Ghulam Ali Ansari, Secretary, Department of Urban Development and Municipal Affairs and Member, SWA.
- 11. Shri Sharad Kumar Dwivedi, District Magistrate, North 24-Parganas -Permanent Invitee, EKWMA
- 12. Dr. P. Ulaganathan, Secretary, Department of Panchayat and Rural Development -Member, SWA and EKWMA.
- 13. Shri Sumit Gupta, District Magistrate, South 24-Parganas -Permanent Invitee, EKWMA
- 14. Shri Sujay Sarkar, Commissioner, Bidhannagar Municipal Corporation
- 15. Shri Dhaval Jain, Commissioner, Kolkata Municipal Corporation & Permanent Invitee, EKWMA.
- 16. Shri Dharmdeo Rai, IFS, Chief Environment Officer, Department of Environment and Member, SWA
- 17. Smt. Tripti Sah, IFS, Member Secretary, West Bengal Biodiversity Board and Member, SWA & Chief Technical Officer, EKWMA.
- 18. Prof. Gupinath Bhandari, Expert Member, SWA.
- 19. Dr. Saptarshi Biswas, Expert Member, EKWMA.
- 20. Dr. Debarati Das, Expert Member, EKWMA.